Laboratory and teams affiliated with OSU-Réunion


The Observatoires des Sciences de l’Univers (OSU) are co-supervised by the CNRS and a university, as well as other research organizations, and promote a territorial organization of research to improve knowledge in the sciences of the Universe around the following themes:

  • Solid Earth
  • Surfaces Continental Interfaces
  • Ocean Atmosphere
  • Astronomy Astrophysics

Created in 2011, the OSU-Réunion (OSU-R) is one of the 25 OSUs in France, under the supervision of the Université de La Réunion (UR), the CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) with the INSU (Institut National des Sciences de l’Univers) and INEE (Institut Ecologie et Environnement) institutes, Météo-France and the IRD (Institut de Recherche pour le Développement, since November 2021).

OSU-Réunion laboratories and teams

Within the Université de La Réunion, the OSU-R federates 8 laboratories combining skills in Earth and atmospheric sciences, marine and forest ecology for the environment, spatial dynamics characterizing eco-socio-systems, sustainable energies and computer science.

Beyond the disciplinary research fields covered by each laboratory in their respective UFR, the OSU-R leads a vast field of interdisciplinary research, requiring the collaboration of laboratories and ranging from the study of the functioning of these land envelopes to the natural risks to which they are subjected (climate change, cyclonic and volcanic activity, anthropization and changes in the uses of natural environments).

The attached Joint Research Units (UMR) are :

ENERGY-Lab Laboratory of Energetics, Electronics, and Processes

ENTROPIE Tropical Marine Ecology of the Pacific and Indian Oceans

Espace-Dev Space observation, models & involved science

LACy Atmosphere and Cyclones Laboratory

LGSR GeoScience Réunion Laboratory

LIM Computer Science and Mathematics Laboratory

PIMENT Physics and Mathematical Engineering for Energy, the Environment and Construction

PVBMT Plant communities and pests in tropical environments

OSU-Reunion observation stations

To drive this interdisciplinary research and support the activity and development of systematic observations in the environmental sciences, OSU-R structures observation stations to integrate them into European Research Infrastructures and international networks.

There are currently 4 OSU-Réunion stations, each with a specific theme:


Other observatories associated with OSU-Réunion

In addition to the observation stations managed by OSU-Réunion, national or regional observatories are also scientifically associated with OSU-R :

OVPF The Piton de la Fournaise Volcanological Observatory

IPGP Paris Institute of Globe Physics – Science for the planet

SEAS-OI Satellite-Assisted Environmental Monitoring of the Indian Ocean